Dreams of Palestine

I wrote this article in 2010. It is very long, but I wanted to give people not only an account of my experiences, but also some back-ground information.

Peace by Truth


by Ortrud Gessler
June 22, 2010

In the spring of 2007 I spent a short seven weeks in the Palestinian West Bank, working as a volunteer with the human rights group ISM.
It has been over 3 years now, but sometimes at night I still dream of Palestine.
Some dreams are nightmares full of fear, others full of sadness, and sometimes anger engulfs me.
And then there are those other dreams, memories so hard to describe.
They show me that good does indeed prevail over evil. That goodness defeats hatred, violence and despair.

The memories I took with me from my weeks in Palestine and from the Palestinian people, a people who in spite of so much suffering have never lost their courageous spirit and their basic humanity, these memories will stay with me for as long as I live
– while I’m awake and in my dreams.

The following…

View original post 11,062 more words

One thought on “Dreams of Palestine

Leave a Reply

